Pointed Roofs – Dorothy M. Richardson (English edition: Pointed Roofs)


Pointed Roofs is the first installment in Dorothy M. Richardson’s Pilgrimage sequence of autobiographical novels. It is also one of the first novels identified with the modernist technique of stream of consciousness. Set in the early 1890s, Pointed Roofs centers on seventeen-year-old Miriam Henderson. After her family runs into financial troubles, Miriam is sent to Germany to teach English at a finishing school in Hanover. The narrative chronicles Miriam’s daily life at the school, as well as outings to the city and the countryside with the other teachers and pupils. All the while, it tells of her experience of living abroad, her attitude to the people around her, her future prospects, and her thoughts on religion, literature, and the status of women in society.

Categories: ,


An English version of the book Pointed Roofs, written by Dorothy M. Richardson. Upon purchase, the buyer will receive the following digital files by email: Word (DOCX), Plain (TXT), Web (HTML), E-Reader (EPUB), Print (PDF). The files can be downloaded five times, the download link will expire after 14 days.

Additional information


Dorothy M. Richardson

Original title

Pointed Roofs

Original language


Publication year



There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.